2013 United Solo Award Nominations

United Solo is proud to announce the nominees for its annual special uAward. This honor recognizes artists with outstanding achievements in popularizing the form of solo performance locally, nationally, or through their international exposure. A resident company at Theatre Row on 42nd Street in New York City, United Solo has nominated several artists for its special 2013 uAward: Alan Cumming in Macbeth, Alec Mapa in Baby Daddy, Bette Midler in I’ll Eat You Last: A Chat With Sue Mengers, Anthony Rapp in Without You, William Shatner in Shatner’s World: We Just Live in It, Fiona Shaw in The Testament of Mary, and Holland Taylor in Ann.


As in past years, the recipient of the special uAward will be announced at the United Solo Festival Closing Ceremony. The winner will join an illustrious group of previously awarded artists, including Anna Deavere Smith (2010), Patti LuPone (2011), and John Leguizamo (2012).


This year the Festival will begin October 3rd and conclude with the Closing Ceremony on November 24th at Theatre Row. During its eight-week program, the Festival will present a variety of local and international performances. The producers are currently accepting submissions from all over the world. Artists and performance companies are invited to submit their solo shows now through April 22, 2013.


Media coverage: Playbill and BroadwayWorld.


More information about the submission process may be found here.


For more details about the uAward click here.