The 2010 United Solo Festival AWARDS Have Been Announced

The 2010 edition of United Solo, the world’s largest solo theatre festival, concluded in a closing ceremony at the Theatre ROW NYC on November 21st, 2010. There were many reasons for celebration, including high attendance, and impressive donations that have been collected through the Festival to support The Actors Fund. The Festival board gave awards to performers for their excellence in solo theatre. Four-time Academy Award nominee Marsha Mason joined the event to present the awards. The 2010 uSolo Awards went to:


Best Production for Bill Bowers in It Goes without Saying

Best One-Man Show for John Paul Karliak in Donna/Madonna

Best One-Woman Show for Danusia Trevino in Wonder Bread

Best Solo Actor for Brian Stanton in BLANK

Best Solo Actress for Jelena Stupljanin in Revolting Women/Woman Bomb-Sade


Best Directing for Austin Pendleton for CLUTTER… by Nancy Redman

Best Script for Bob Brader in Spitting In The Face Of The Devil

Best Use of Set for I Was Raised Mexican by Sayda Trujillo

Best Storytelling for Alicia Dattner in Eat, Pray, Laugh!

Best Stand-up for Prescott Tolk in High Jinxed

Best Multimedia for ***[tenderpits]*** by Anthony Johnston and Nathan Schwartz


Best Foreign Show for Herbert Kaluza in The Story of my Dovecote

Best Festival Debut for Sivan Suzy Hadari in The Emancipation of the Sassy Jewish Woman

First Sold Out Show for Sarah Kay in Square One


Audience Award for Patty Staco in In My Shoes


United Solo also announced the special uAward for the outstanding solo performer of the recent season in New York City. In 2010, the Festival board nominated three artists: Carrie Fisher in Wishful Drinking (Roundabout Theatre Company), Anna Deavere Smith in Let Me Down Easy (Second Stage Theater) and Matt Oberg in The Event (Barrow Street Theatre). The 2010 uAward went to Anna Deavere Smith.

More information on TheaterMania, BackStage and BroadwayWorld.


Go BACK to unews