• Name: United Solo Theatre Festival (first reference), United Solo Festival or United Solo
  • Dates: Thursday, September 15 through Sunday, November 20, 2016
  • Location: a resident company of Theatre Row, 410 West 42nd Street, New York City
  • About: Once again this year, United Solo, the world’s largest solo theatre festival, will present a selection of local and international productions including storytelling, puppetry, dance, multimedia, improv, stand-up, magic, musical, and drama.Most performances introduce original works, and some are based on adaptations of classical literature. Since its inaugural year in 2010, United Solo featured over 600 productions from all over the world.
  • 2016 is the 7th anniversary
  • Website: www.unitedsolo.org


Marcin Lipinski
Communications Representative
(617) 697-6888
For Immediate Release
September 15, 2016
New York City

Seventh Season of the United Solo Festival Features Performers from Six Continents

The world’s largest solo theatre festival opens its 7th season at Theatre Row on September 15, 2016. This year’s selection will feature over 120 productions from six continents, presenting from two to five shows each night through November 20. The festival connects solo performers from around the world with admirers of this special art form, in which a performance’s success depends on the delivery of one performer.
“An actor performing solo is like an athlete running a marathon. Talent and stamina aren’t enough. It takes months, sometimes years of preparation,” said Omar Sangare, founder and artistic director of United Solo. “I’m thrilled that our unique event unites solo performers from all over the world, who come to celebrate the discipline of solo theatre.”
The festival presents a variety of categories: drama and comedy, original plays and adaptations of well-known classics. Audience opinion matters: sold-out shows are offered additional performance dates. Audiences are also invited to vote for their favorite shows in the festival through an online survey. The winner will receive the United Solo & Backstage Magazine Audience Award. Artists interested in performing at United Solo in the future can already submit their applications at www.unitedsolo.org/submit.
A sense of community is important to United Solo. An Encore category highlights shows by artists returning to the festival after successful performances in earlier seasons. As in previous years, United Solo will continue to collect donations for The Actors Fund, to express support for members of the artistic community who are in periods of need or transition.
The full schedule of the 2016 United Solo Theatre Festival is available at www.unitedsolo.org/us/ufest. Tickets for all shows in the festival are priced at $20.25, and are available through the Theatre Row box office (410 West 42nd Street), over the phone at 212.239.6200, and online at www.telecharge.com.
Related inquiries may be addressed to Marcin Lipinski at info@unitedsolo.org


Download CURRENT Press Release (September 15, 2016)


United Solo Announces Nominees for 2016 Special Award (September 1, 2016)
United Solo Theatre Festival Presents Its Seventh Season at Theatre Row (August 18, 2016)
United Solo Celebrates Its Sixth Season, James Lecesne Accepts Special Award (November 22, 2015)
Ten Weeks of Solo Shows at Sixth Annual United Solo Festival, Opening Sept. 17 (September 15, 2015)
Nominees for United Solo Special Award Unveiled (September 1, 2015)
United Solo Accepts Submissions for 2015 Season (December 18, 2014)
United Solo Fifth Anniversary Concludes with Awards for Billy Crystal, Estelle Parsons, Richard A. Harris, Among Others (November 23, 2014)
United Solo Debuts Its Fifth Season in New York, Presents 130 Productions (September 16, 2014)
United Solo Names Nominees For Its Special Award (July 28, 2014)
In Its Fifth Year, United Solo Festival Extends Its Programming Five Times (May 20, 2014)
Solo Performers Invited To Submit Applications For The United Solo Festival On 42nd Street (January 6, 2014)
Fiona Shaw, Gordon Clapp, and Eric Roberts among winners at 2013 United Solo Festival (November 25, 2013)
United Solo Begins Its Fourth Season In New York City (September 25, 2013)
More Than One Hundred and Twenty Productions At The Fourth United Solo Festival (July 15, 2013)
United Solo Expands With New Presentation In Europe (May 28, 2013)
The 2013 Nominees For the United Solo Special Award Have Been Announced (April 16, 2013)
New United Solo Collection Published By Indie Theater Now (February 27, 2013)
New York-Based United Solo Festival Invites Submissions For Its New Season (February 19, 2013)
United Solo Awards Go To John Leguizamo, LynnMarie Rink, Ann Morrison, Among Others (November 19, 2012)
One Hundred Productions Set for the Third United Solo Theatre Festival (October 4, 2012)
In Its Third Year, United Solo Festival Presents One Hundred Productions (August 1, 2012)
United Solo Announced the 2012 Nominees (April 25, 2012)
The 3rd United Solo Theatre Festival Accepts Submissions (March 14, 2012)
United Solo Expands with Publications on Indie Theater Now (January 4, 2012)
Patti LuPone, Pedro Almodovar and Austin Pendleton Among Winners (November 21, 2011)
The Worldʼs Largest Solo Theatre Festival Begins (October 13, 2011)
Seventy-Seven Productions This Fall at United Solo Theatre Festival (August 23, 2011)
2011 United Solo Nominees Have Been Unveiled (April 12, 2011)
United Solo Opens Submissions for Solo Artists (March 1, 2011)
The Second Edition of United Solo Goes Twice As Long (January 18, 2011)
Christmas Gift for Everyone in Entertainment (December 14, 2010)
The 2010 United Solo Festival Awards have been announced (November 22, 2010)
Celebrities and Emerging Artists at the United Solo Festival (November 19, 2010)
Cynthia Nixon, Anna Deavere Smith and Marsha Mason at United Solo Events (November 11, 2010)
Marsha Mason and Many Awards at the United Solo Theatre Festival (November 5, 2010)
Marsha Mason at the 2010 United Solo Theatre Festival Closing Ceremony (November 1, 2010)
One Once Only (August 31, 2010)
United Solo Seeks Submissions for New Solo Performance Festival (May 17, 2010)