United Solo Announces Nominees for 2020 United Solo Special Award

The United Solo Theatre Festival, the world’s largest solo performance festival, has announced their nominees for the 2020 United Solo Special Award: Laura Linney, Bellina Logan, Sir Ian McKellen, and Andrew Scott for their outstanding solo productions. For more information, please visit http://unitedsolo.org/us/uaward/uaward-2020/
Despite having to postpone the 11th Annual New York Festival and inaugural London festival due to the ongoing public health crisis, United Solo is still committed to honoring outstanding solo performers and celebrating their work. “Though current public health conditions challenge our ability to host in-person festivals, the show must go on, and ours certainly will,” said founder and artistic director Omar Sangare. “Our next season, in the fall of 2021, will feature an exciting and diverse slate of outstanding solo shows.” The winner will join past United Solo Special Award recipients, including Anna Deavere Smith (2010), Patti LuPone (2011), John Leguizamo (2012), Fiona Shaw (2013), Billy Crystal (2014), James Lecesne (2015), Staceyann Chin in collaboration with Cynthia Nixon (2016), Michael Moore (2017), Renée Taylor (2018), and Aasif Mandvi (2019).